Mizzou New Music Initiative announces winners in the 2024 Creating Original Music Project Competition

The winning composers in the 2024 Creating Original Music Project (COMP) have been announced by the Mizzou New Music Initiative. Now in its 19th year, COMP is an annual statewide competition sponsored by the University of Missouri School of Music and the Sinquefield Charitable Foundation. COMP showcases new, original music from Missouri student composers and songwriters in grades K-12, offering positive recognition, prizes, performances, educational opportunities, and more.

For the competition, students in grades K-5 submit compositions in two categories: Instrumental Music and Songs with Words. For grades 6-8, the categories are Notated Music, Popular Genres, Acoustic, and Popular Genres, Electronic/produced and for grades 9-12, the categories are Notated Music, Popular Genres, Acoustic, and Popular Genres, Electronic/produced. All entries are required to be original music written by the student, and only one entry per student is allowed. Both notated pieces and music made electronically are eligible. Arrangements of previously composed pieces or improvisation based on composed pieces are not accepted.

The winning composers and their schools are awarded cash prizes, and the winning compositions will be performed at the Creating Original Music Project’s New Music Festival on April 20, 2024 in the Sinquefield Music Center’s Sheryl Crow Hall at the University of Missouri in Columbia. The junior division concert, featuring works from elementary and middle school winners of this year’s competition, begins at 11 a.m., with the senior division concert of popular and notated music by high school winners following at 1 p.m. A concert of mixed genres and ages for winners in pop and jazz categories follows at 3 p.m. Since COMP began in 2006, hundreds of pieces of music by K-12 Missouri composers have been performed.

Winners in high school are also eligible for scholarships to attend the Missouri Summer Composition Institute, which will take place June 9-15 on the Mizzou campus.

The 2024 Creating Original Music Project (COMP) competition categories and winners are:

Elementary Division (K-5): Instrumental Music

1st (tie): Anna Bergin, Homeschooled; Liberty, MO

1st (tie): Sam Finkel, Grant Elementary School; Columbia, MO

2nd: Leland Baker, Ray Miller Elementary School; Kirksville, MO

3rd: Rowan Seidman, Avery Elementary School; Webster Groves, MO

Honorable mention: Avery Francisco, East Elementary School; Waynesville, MO

Elementary Division (K-5): Songs with Words

1st: Jo Ault, Moreau Heights Elementary School; Columbia, MO

2nd: Cohl McTyer, Parkwood Elementary School; Maryland Heights, MO

3rd: Beckett Crawford, Hatton-McCredie Elementary School; Mexico, MO

Honorable mention: Alouisa Marcantonio, Lillian Schumacher Elementary School; Liberty, MO

Middle School Division (6-8): Notated Music

1st: Daniel Sedyankov, Southwest Middle School; Manchester, MO

2nd: Bryce Boudreau, Lasalle Springs Middle School; Wildwood, MO

3rd: Niveah Wilson, Northgate Middle School; Kansas City, MO

Honorable mention: Johann Uhl, Wright City Middle School; Wright City, MO

Middle School Division (6-8): Popular Genres – Acoustic

1st: Chace Curtis, Liberty Middle School; Liberty, MO

2nd: Elijah Gwyn, Parkway Northeast Middle School; Creve Coeur, MO

3rd: Brody Vestal, Moberly Middle School; Moberly, MO

Honorable mention: Blakely Cooper, John Warner Middle School; Columbia, MO

Middle School Division (6-8): Popular Music – Electronically Produced

1st: Ian Lundholm, Platte City Middle School; Platte City, MO

2nd: Elizabeth Griffin, Our Lady of Lourdes; Columbia, MO

3rd: Noah Cates, Oakville Middle School; St. Louis, MO

High School Division (9-12): Notated Music

1st: Yueheng Wang, Ladue Horton Watkins High School; Saint Louis, MO

2nd: Nathan Buckwalter, Fulton High School; Fulton, MO

3rd: Hannah Wolkowitz, Parkway Central High School; Chesterfield, MO

High School Division (9-12): Popular Genres – Acoustic

1st: Stone Gill, Arcadia Valley High School; Ironton, MO

2nd: Andrew Allen, Christian Fellowship School; Columbia, MO

3rd: Ovya Diwakaran, Ladue Horton Watkins High School; Saint Louis, MO

Honorable mentions:

Lily Schaumburg, Clayton High School; Saint Louis, MO

Easton Beezley, Ozark High School; Ozark, MO

High School Division (9-12): Popular Genres – Electronic Produced

1st: Henry E Lammers, David H. Hickman High School; Columbia, MO

2nd: Reagan Sheedy, Raymore-Peculiar High School; Peculiar, MO

3rd: Wyatt Weatherford, South Shelby High School; Shelbina, MO

High School Division (9-12): Jazz

1st: Collin Scott, Nixa High School; Nixa, MO

2nd: Allison Scott, North County High School; Bonne Terre, MO