Composer José Halac’s Oct. 5-9, 2023 residency concludes with Mizzou New Music Ensemble concert

José Halac, an award-winning Argentinian composer and researcher of contemporary music, will be in residence from Wednesday, October 5 through Sunday, October 9, 2022 at the University of Missouri School of Music. Halac’s residency is funded by the Mizzou New Music Initiative (MNMI) and the Sinquefield Charitable Foundation.

José Halac                                                  Photo credit: Susana Perez

During his residency, Halac will work with the Mizzou New Music Ensemble on his new piece, The fragile pulsing of tectonic folds, in coaching sessions scheduled at 10:15 – 10:55 am on Wednesday, Oct. 5 and Friday, Oct. 7 in room 130 at the Sinquefield Music Center. He will also present a composition lecture on Friday, Oct. 7 at 3 pm in SMC 385 at the Center. During his residency, he will also conduct private composition classes for five Mizzou music students. Halac’s residency will conclude with an NME concert on Saturday, Oct. 9 at 7:30 pm at Sheryl Crow Hall (SMC 132).

 Halac teaches composition at the Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina, has a master’s degree in composition, and studied with Charles Dodge, César Franchisena and Horacio Vaggione. He has won numerous awards and commissions, including a New York Foundation for the Arts fellowship, a National Endowment for the Arts grant, several ASCAP awards, and first prize in the 2000 BOURGES Electroacoustic Music Competition for his electroacoustic piece, The Breaking of the Scream.

Halac’s compositions merge western techniques with South American and northwest Argentinean indigenous music, rhythms, and chant-based vocals to create electroacoustic improvisational compositions. In recent years, his work has focused on organic, granular, and design-based constructions.

Here is the program for the October 9 concert:

José Halac:                  The fragile pulsing of tectonic folds

Angélica Negrón:         Conversación a distancia

Carolina Heredia:         Ius in Bello

Isabelle Borchardt:       Contemporary American Creativity

The Mizzou New Music Ensemble is made up of University of Missouri School of Music graduate students. All the members of MNE are fully funded through research assistantships.

Mizzou New Music Ensemble and Co-Artistic Directors Dr. Stefan Freund (far right) and Dr. Yoshiaki Onishi (center front)                                                                                                  Photo credit: Allison Davis


For 2022-23, the Ensemble members are:

  • Valentina Arango Sánchez, flutes
  • Andrew Wiele, clarinets
  • Alexandre Negrão, violin
  • Jiae Lee, violoncello
  • Ludwing Espindola, piano
  • Anthony Hernandez, piano
  • Miles Bohlman, percussion
  • Olivia Sletteland, percussion

NME is co-directed by Dr. Stefan Freund and Dr. Yoshiaki Onishi.